Another name for Personal Injury Protection is “No-Fault” insurance. It is one of the necessary requirements for all drivers in Florida. PIP as it’s often abbreviated compensates you for injuries sustained in an accident, regardless of who was at fault. Just like other states in the United States that require PIP, the Sunshine state has its own set of rules and restrictions.
How does PIP coverage work in Florida? Florida is one of ten states that have personal injury protection (no-fault) auto insurance.
What does Personal Injury Protection cover in Florida? A couple of things covered by PIP in Florida are: medical expenses, death benefits and lost income.
How PIP Covers Your Medical Expenses in Florida
Personal Injury Protection will cover the majority of medical bills, with the exception of trendy but not commonly acknowledged treatments like acupuncture. In most other jurisdictions, personal injury protection (PIP) will cover the injuries of everyone in your home, but in Florida, you can pick whether your PIP will cover only you or other family members.
PIP claims are available for the following:
- Medication and medical services
- Surgical procedures and hospital costs
- The expense of rehabilitation
- Services for diagnostics
- Services for ambulatory patients
The unique thing about Florida Personal Injury Protection is that only 80% of your medical bills will be covered by PIP, unlike other states. As an example, if your injuries cost $10,000, PIP will only cover $8,000 of them.
In addition, if your injury isn’t classified as an emergency, you’ll only be eligible for $2,500 in compensation. If you have decent health insurance coverage, it may cover the rest of your expenses, but make sure it covers vehicle accident injuries.
- Why Is Florida Car Insurance So Expensive in 2021?
- Why is Florida House Insurance Such a Tragedy?
- What is the Penalty for Driving without Car Insurance in Florida?
Economic Benefits of Personal Injury Protection in Florida
If you are handicapped as a result of an accident, Florida PIP will cover 60% of your lost wages up to a $10,000 limit. This payout also covers services you would ordinarily supply but are unable to do so due to the accident.
This payout also covers services you would ordinarily supply but are unable to do so due to the accident. Daily duties such as laundry, house cleaning, pet care, and so on are included in these services.
Florida PIP Will Pay Death Benefits
In addition to the benefits stated above, PIP would pay for the policyholder’s funeral and burial expenses if they were killed. For those costs, you or your family members are entitled to $5,000.
How Much Does Personal Injury Protection Insurance Cost in Florida?
The minimum and maximum amount of PIP you can have in Florida is $10,000. You have various choices for lowering the cost of your premium. You can choose to have a greater deductible, up to $1,000. How does PIP deductible work in Florida? By Florida vehicle insurance law, a PIP deductible cannot exceed $2,000.
Is PIP deductible a good deal for drivers? According to Chris Russo, a Lakeland car accident attorney, PIP deductibles are not a good deal because it subtracts from the amount that the insurance provider has to pay out of the $10,000 in benefits that you have available after an accident.
You can choose whether or not you want your PIP to cover the occupants of your household when you get a quote. In either instance, we recommend comparing rates from several area insurers to find a low-cost option.
How much does PIP coverage cost in Florida? $556 for the annual premium of the PIP policy alone or $3,228 for an annual premium of the full policy.
- 4 Crucial Factors to Consider When Purchasing Homeowners Insurance in Florida
- How to Compare Home Insurance Quotes Before You Buy in Orlando
- President, Author, Entrepreneur Jessi Park is Changing the Landscape of the Insurance Industry
When and How to Submit a Personal Injury Protection (PIP) Claim in Florida
When filing a PIP claim in Florida, there are rigorous guidelines to follow. The most important is that any injuries must be treated within two weeks of the car collision in order to qualify for PIP payment. After two weeks, your claim will be rejected. Because of the high rate of insurance fraud in Florida, your insurer has up to 60 days to check your claim for any falsehoods but must pay for your damages within 30 days, even if suspicion exists.
If your case is complicated or your insurance company is refusing to pay you, you may want to hire a personal injury lawyer to ensure you receive your compensation. Meanwhile, keep track of all medical bills incurred as a result of the accident. See more reasons why you need to hire a personal injury attorney in the U.S.
You must submit a “Wage and Salary” verification form filled out by your employer in order to receive job loss compensation. The verification shows your earnings for the 13 weeks leading up to the accident. A lawyer may be able to assist you in ensuring that your employer completes the verification form in a timely manner. You may also be required to obtain a note from your doctor describing your disability.
You Still Have a Right to Sue Under Florida PIP Law
PIP laws are used in no-fault jurisdictions like Florida to minimize the number of persons suing each other for damages. Most no-fault states, including Florida, allow drivers to sue only if their injuries are disfiguring and/or permanent, or if they have resulted in death. Florida, on the other hand, allows drivers to sue even if the injury is minor, as long as the medical expenses surpass $10,000.
So, if you are wounded in an accident and your hospital bills total $20,000, you can sue the other driver for the $10,000 that your PIP does not cover. You have the right to sue them for whatever emotional distress you believe the injuries have caused you.
Given the average cost of a hospital stay following an accident, it’s usually a good idea to have a lot of bodily injury liability coverage on your policy. While Florida does not require this coverage, the other motorist can sue your bodily injury insurance rather than you personally if you are sued for exorbitant medical expenditures.
- 7 Major Challenges Facing the Insurance Industry in 2021
- Should I Carry Medical Malpractice Protection as a Nurse?
- Even with Insurance, Molly McKenna Still Got Hit with $40,000 in Medical Bills
Why Should You Think About Including Medical Payments Coverage?
Medical Payments, sometimes known as MedPay, is a sort of insurance similar to PIP but without the financial benefits. Because the limitations are so low in Florida, it might be worth adding to your insurance. For our 30-year-old driver, MedPay can provide an additional $5,000 in coverage for roughly $100 per year.
Additionally, if your health insurance doesn’t cover it, MedPay can assist pay for the 20% of your costs that PIP won’t cover. MedPay can also help you pay down your PIP deductible.