Is there a penalty for driving without car insurance in Florida? Is it illegal to drive a car in the Sunshine State when you don’t have the minimum required insurance?
The answer is YES!
In the state of Florida, car insurance is required and driving a car on Florida roads without the minimum required coverage can come with a lot of penalties and withdrawal of driving privileges.
Statistics show that 27% of drivers in the Sunshine State don’t have auto insurance coverage and this is costing them more than necessary.
Below are the penalties for driving without car insurance Florida:
- First offense: $150 reinstatement fee
- Second offense: $250 reinstatement fee (if the last second offense occurred within three years of the first offense)
- Subsequent offenses: $500 reinstatement fee if it happens within three years of the first offense
Florida car insurance laws forbid drivers to drive around Florida roads without a proof of their insurance. Failure to adhere to these laws can result in the suspension of your driver’s license and registration.
It can be as serious as that.
Imagine getting into a car accident and you have no proof of your car insurance policy to present when the police arrive. That could be a double jeopardy.
- What is Insurance Defense Law And How It Works
- How Coronavirus Will Affect Health Insurance of Employees in Florida
- 7 Major Challenges Facing the Insurance Industry in 2021
To further help you understand the penalties for driving without car insurance in Florida, let’s look at the privileges you will be denied for failing to renew your policy before it expired.
Penalty for Driving without Car Insurance in Florida: First Offense
The state of Florida will suspend your license and registration if you can’t provide your proof of car insurance. In addition to that, you will be required to pay a $150 reinstatement fee when you get a new policy. Thereafter, you may apply to reinstate your driver’s license, license plates and registration.
This suspension can last up to 3 years if you are unable to provide your evidence that an insurer sold a car insurance policy to you. Imagine being denied your driving privilege for 3 full years as a business owner.
Reach out to a reliable car insurance company in Florida to renew your policy before it expires and ensure you get the minimum requirement for your kind of car and location.
Penalties for second and subsequent offenses
You will be mandated by the state to pay a $250 or $500 reinstatement fee if found guilty of second or subsequent offenses respectively.
To be on the safe side, do not allow your policy to expire before you renew it. Always keep in touch with your insurer and be on the lookout for new auto insurance laws in the state of Florida.
- 27+ Interesting Facts About Car Insurance Policy That Can Save More Money For You
- 6 Things Car Insurance Companies Will Not Tell You (We Uncovered Their Secrets)
- How to Choose the Right Car Insurance Carrier
What is the Penalty for Driving without Car Insurance When Involved in an Accident?
If you cause an accident while driving uninsured, you’ll be required to have an SR-22 on file and obtain bodily injury liability coverage in addition to the required minimum car insurance coverage in Florida.
How much will auto insurance rates increase after a lapse? The penalty you are expected to pay for a car insurance lapse is fairly small if it’s short (an 8% increase for a lapse under 30 days), but will be much higher if your lapse is any longer than that (a 35% increase for 31 days or more).